Structural & Mechanistic Biology -
item1a item2a item3a item4a item8a

Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize

Dr. Charalampos Kalodimos is the 2016 recipient of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in the Physical Sciences. He was recognized for using Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopy to produce “beautifully detailed characterizations of structure, function and dynamics in a number of challenging and important biological systems.”

Stig Sunner Young Investigator Award

Dr. Charalampos Kalodimos is the 2013 recipient of the Stig Sunner Memorial Award.The Sunner Award established in 1980 honors the memory of Professor Stig Sunner (1917-1980) of Lund University in Sweden. The award recognizes the research contributions of young scientists to thermodynamics and thermochemistry and is typically restricted to individuals 40 years of age or younger.

Career highlight by Nature

Turning point: Charalampos Kalodimos on the impact of early success: Charalampos Kalodimos is the first person to win two key young-investigator awards: the Biophysical Society's 2011 Michael and Kate Barany Award in September, and the Protein Society's award last year. Read it here.

Biophysical Society Young Investigator Award

Biophysical Society Press Release: "The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2011 Society awards.....Dr. Charalampos Kalodimos, will receive the Michael and Kate Barany Award for Young Investigators for his work using NMR spectroscopy, combined with other biophysical methodologies, to determine the mechanisms underlying the functionality of large protein machineries." The Michael and Kate Barany Award for Young Investigators recognizes an outstanding contribution to biophysics by a person who has not achieved the rank of full professor at the time of nomination.

Protein Society Young Investigator Award

Protein Society Press Release: "The Protein Society, the leading international society devoted to furthering research and development in protein science, announces the winners of its prestigious 2010 awards....Dr. Charalampos Kalodimos will receive The Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award, sponsored by Merck Research Laboratories, in recognition of his significant contribution to the study of proteins by a scientist in the early stages of an independent career. Dr. Kalodimos is being honored for his landmark study of the mechanism of protein secretion. He was able to solve the structure of the SecA protein in complex with a signal sequence using advanced NMR and isotope labeling techniques. Dr. Kalodimos’ lab has recently shed new light on “dynamic allostery.” Dr. Kalodimos is a rising star who possesses tremendous energy, vision and passion."

New York of Academy of Sciences Blatavnik Young Investigator Award

The New York Academy of Sciences has named the recipients for the annual Blavatnik Awards, which are made possible by a grant from the Blavatnik Family Foundation. The awards recognize highly impactful, innovative, and interdisciplinary accomplishments in the life sciences, physical sciences, mathematics and engineering.